Click to read more

GMEC delegation from Zambia visit Ghana

Ghana Good Governance

Get the Flash Player To see this player.

Written by Cornelia Amoah (PAO)   
Monday, 26 July 2010 17:05

DOC members and NAPRM-GC memberThe National African Peer Review Mechanism Governing Council (NAPRM-GC) has completed the inauguration of District Oversight Committees in all the 170 districts in the country.

The inaugurations began on the 14th of September 2007 with the Birim South district in Akim Oda in the Eastern region and ended in Tema on the 10th of May 2010 with the inauguration of Tema Metro, Ashaiman Municipal and Ledzokuku-Krowor Municipal APRM Oversight Committees in the industrial city of Tema.
Significantly absent at the end of it all was the architect of the APRM, Dr. Francis Appiah who had been called by his maker.

After the successful review of Ghana in 2004, the mandate of the Governing Council was extended to monitor the implementation of National Programme of Action.
The Council concluded that in order to make the APRM truly participatory and become a household name the grassroots must be made to play their roles by involvement.
This initiative led to the introduction of the District Oversight Committee Concept – the voluntary association of people in the communities who among others educate and sensitize community members to better understand and own the APRM, assist in the monitoring and evaluation of the implementation of the National Programme of Action at the district level and also to promote and exchange information, ideas and experiences within and between districts.

The DOC is a nine-member representative body of each of the 170 districts which is elected through an electoral college supervised by the National Commission of Civic Education to be inaugurated  by the Governing Council.

The Chairman of the Governing Council, Prof S.K. Adjepong, accompanied by two Council members, Prof. S.K.B.Asante and Ms Gloria Ofori Boadu congratulated the last batch of Oversight Committees and reminded the DOCs  that they have been empowered to play a crucial role to ensure transparency, accountability and credibility in the local governance system.

He said this is what will lead to good governance and ultimately correct the under-development, poverty and deprivation which have become the trademark of Africa. Prof. Adjepong explained that the APRM is a voluntary mechanism which offers countries the platform for self-introspection and the identification of strengths and weaknesses through to the resolution to address these by countries which accede to peer review.

He emphasized that the APRM is apolitical and that any member who tries to add colour to it will loose his or her membership. He said it is the independence, neutrality and people-centered nature of the District Oversight Committees that have brought a number of APRM-member countries and international institutions to Ghana to share in this model experience. This he said is a best practice that must be preserved.

Prof Adjepong added that the Governing Council has made increased progress with the introduction of the District Assemblies in the debate of the survey reports by the DOCs. He commended the National Commission for Civic Education (NCCE) for its close collaboration in the co-ordination of the DOC electoral process.

He said out of the 52 member-countries of the African Union, 29 have acceded to the APRM and this gives hope that many more will come on board to enable the continent of Africa to experience change for the better.

The inaugurations of the District Oversight Committees were as follows:

 Region Number of DOC
 Gt. Accra
 Northern Region
 Upper East Region9
 Ashanti Region27
 Western Region
 Brong Ahafo Region22
 Central Region17
 Volta Region18
 Eastern Region21
 Upper West Region9


Last Updated on Friday, 30 July 2010 09:42